madnessenergylife.blogg.se

Why use firefox for mac
Why use firefox for mac







  1. #Why use firefox for mac mac os x
  2. #Why use firefox for mac upgrade

We think it’s best to go with a big project with a large number of developers that receives a lot of attention to security. But, after taking some deserved public heat, they’ve made policy changes and we’re hopeful they’ll do better in the future.Įven if you don’t completely trust some of Mozilla’s business decisions, your browser is just too important to be left to a small community of enthusiasts. Robot “Looking Glass” add-on was ridiculous, and we’re not thrilled about what they’re doing with Cliqz in Germany. Yes, Mozilla has done some things we’re not crazy about. If you want to keep using your old add-ons that no longer work in Firefox Quantum, we recommend Mozilla’s Firefox Extended Support Release (ESR) instead.įirefox ESR is based on Firefox 52, supports traditional XUL Firefox add-ons and NPAPI plug-ins, and will continue receiving security updates directly from Mozilla until July 2, 2018. We like Firefox Quantum, which is faster and more modern than previous releases of Firefox. RELATED: What's New in Firefox Quantum, the Firefox You've Been Waiting For As soon as I start typing, Firefox starts presenting matches based on my browsing history I can then easily select the correct URL using the arrow keys and then pressing Return to open the selected URL.If You Don’t Like Firefox Quantum, Use Firefox ESR Instead In Firefox, I can load this page by simply typing a portion of any word in the URL- weblogs, for instance.

#Why use firefox for mac mac os x

To demonstrate the differences, consider the Mac OS X Hints blog page here on, which I access many times each day. While both Safari and Firefox will auto-complete “known” URLs as you type them, they go about things very differently-and for my workflow, Firefox does it in a much more powerful way.įirefox (top) and Safari (bottom) have very different URL completion methods When using a browser, that means I’m more likely to type a URL into the URL entry bar than I am to use a bookmark to reach that same site, as that would require using the mouse (or a lot of typing to activate and navigate through the Bookmarks menu). As I’ve noted in previous posts here, I’m a keyboard addict if I could get away with not touching the mouse all day, I’d be a very happy Mac user. More specifically, it’s how Firefox handles partial URLs typed into the URL entry bar.

#Why use firefox for mac upgrade

I used to think it was the add-ons that kept me on Firefox, but while tackling an upgrade to Geeklog (the content engine that powers Mac OS X Hints) that reqiured testing multiple pages in many browsers, I realized just why I prefer Firefox: URL handling. Given I could have a perfectly Mac-like user experience by simply switching to Safari, why haven’t I done just that?

why use firefox for mac

On the other hand, using Firefox means putting up with a somewhat non-Mac-like user experience-everything from buttons to fonts to menu behavior is just a bit different than in most any other Mac app.

why use firefox for mac why use firefox for mac

The biggest apparent reason is Firefox’s support for add-ons that can greatly extend the browser’s power, and that’s certainly something. However, when people would ask me why I preferred Firefox to Safari, I never really had a good answer.

why use firefox for mac

While they are all excellent browsers, over time I’ve settled on Firefox as my personal favorite (with Safari as a close second). In the course of my job over the last few years, I’ve had the opportunity to use all of these browsers, and many more-too many to count, in fact. Safari, of course, is the dominant browser, followed by Firefox, and then any of a number of others, including OmniWeb, Camino, Opera, and the venerable iCab (not listed in any sort of order). OS X users are blessed (or is it cursed?) with a plethora of choices for our Web browsing needs.









Why use firefox for mac